Back to Top
Business and Financial Policies and Procedures

Domestic Travel

Domestic travel consists of travel to any destination within the United States, including Alaska and Hawaii, and all United States possessions, territories, and entities with free association status. United States possessions and territories include:

  • American Samoa
  • Baker Island
  • Guam
  • Howland Island
  • Jarvis Island
  • Johnston Atoll
  • Kingman Reef
  • Micronesia
  • Marshall Islands
  • Midway Islands
  • Navassa Island
  • Northern Marianas
  • Palau
  • Palmyra Atoll
  • Puerto Rico
  • U.S. Virgin Islands
  • Wake Island

Travel to these locations is considered domestic travel and reimbursement for meal per diem and lodging allowances must be calculated at the domestic, out-of-state rates, and are not considered foreign travel.


Additional Resources

Business Travel Guide

Last Updated: February 10, 2020 | Approved: Senior Associate Vice President for Business and Finance | Effective: September 2012

Give us feedback about this page Submit Feedback